To install this webapp on your
tap below and then scroll down to Add to Home Screen.

We need to be able to verify your email address on file. Please click the button below to send a confirmation email.

When you receive it, please click on the link to verify your email address.

Thank you.

0

The Gurus of Tidiness: If You Like Marie Kondo …

The New York Times

Spring cleaning started early this year, with the January release of the Netflix series “Tidying Up With Marie Kondo” initiating something of a national closet-clearing frenzy.

Charities have been inundated with donations, and Instagram feeds have overflowed with tidying hash tags like #sparkjoy and #konmari, nods to the Japanese organizer’s method of keeping only items that bring you joy.

Ms. Kondo, who leapt into the American consciousness in 2014 with the release of her book “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up,” is not alone in her fascination with order. Three new books also grapple with the topic, offering clutter-weary readers various perspectives, and strategies, on managing their stuff.

There’s “Outer Order, Inner Calm: Declutter and Organize to Make More Room for Happiness,” by Gretchen Rubin, author of the best-selling book “The Happiness Project.” And “The Home Edit: A Guide to Organizing and Realizing Your House Goals,” by Clea Shearer and Joanna Teplin, a home-organizing duo with a million Instagram followers. And also Joshua Becker’s “The Minimalist Home: A Room-by-Room Guide to a Decluttered, Refocused Life.”

The books hit shelves at a moment when Americans are collectively looking into their closets and wondering what could go.

When Ms. Kondo’s show first aired on Netflix, thredUP, the online consignment shop, reported an 80 percent surge in requests for Clean Out kits, the bags customers fill with everything they want to sell. And Housing Works saw a 15 percent increase in donations to its New York City thrift stores.

Even Ms. Kondo seems caught off guard by the response. “I am very surprised by the immensity of the reaction,” she said, speaking through an interpreter over Google Chat. “But in regards to the impact that tidying can have on people’s lives, that’s something that I knew and I believed in from the beginning.”

No longer a mundane household chore, home organizing now falls squarely into the wellness category, another step on the endless road to self-improvement. Clean up your living room and you can clean up your life.

 

Read the full and original article at The New York Times

Please login to comment.

Don't have an account?

Sign Up for free.